关于我们

从小事做起

在线氯气传感器

2013年,卤素系统公司在内华达州英克林村小镇的一个个人车库里启动。 我们的在线氯气分析仪部分是通过海军研究办公室(ONR)的小企业创新研究合同(SBIR)开发的。 国际海事组织(IMO)正在颁布新的D2标准,有很多工作要做。(D2标准是一个性能标准,规定了允许排放的最大活生物体数量,包括对人类健康有害的特定指标微生物)。

我们的Halogensys.com网站一上线,来自世界各地的订单就开始涌向我们的余氯传感器。 我们的车库很快就不够用了,不得不在2015年租用了一个小型工业建筑的一部分。 从那时起,我们搬到了位于内华达州南里诺的一个更大的空间。到目前为止,我们已经交付了2500多个压载水处理的传感器,并且还为饮用水和废水传感器市场开发了我们的传感器。

我们很高兴卤素系统公司的传感器被许多人称为 "颠覆性"。 它克服了现有技术的大部分限制,并提供了更稳定的结果。   

环境效益及更多

对入侵物种的压载水处理

入侵物种(如斑马贻贝)对生态系统造成了环境破坏。 许多这些生物是由穿越海洋或不同港口的货船的压舱水带进来的。这些船在运行过程中,有时会排放数百万加仑的水。未经处理的水会导致当地生态系统不堪重负。幸运的是,现在要求船舶在排放压舱水之前,使用处理系统(BWTS)对压舱水进行消毒并杀死入侵物种。 许多BWTS使用Halogen Systems Inc.压载水TRO传感器来测量氧化剂水平以控制处理过程。 我们的传感器也确保排放的水的氧化剂水平是安全的。 卤素系统公司总裁Michael Silveri说:"由于生物污染、高水硬度、高盐度和极端温度,压载水的氯测量是所有应用中最困难的。"我们花了好几年时间才为海水这样的恶劣环境生成一个可靠的传感器。由于我们已经成功地提供了一种适用于外界最苛刻应用的传感器,为废水和饮用水处理厂开发类似的传感器技术就相对容易了。"

饮水

市政水务在线氯气传感器

卤素系统公司的技术在全球获得了11项专利,是唯一可以直接插入饮用水管的在线氯气传感器。它能做到这一点是因为它是唯一不受流速波动影响的传感器。我们的传感器放置在水箱中时也同样有效。此外,在2021年7月,我们获得了NSF61级认证,允许我们的传感器在饮用水领域安全使用。

此外,与其他氯气分析仪系统相比,卤素系统分析仪不需要废水流来运作。大多数余氯传感器每年需要大约69,000加仑的废水来获得其读数。除了过量的水消耗,处理过的水被简单地浪费掉,平均每个传感器每年要花费150美元。一些公用事业单位有超过100个分析仪在运行中产生废水流,造成了巨大的浪费开支。

广为人知的 Hach CL17不同,Halogen Systems MP5氯气分析仪不需要化学试剂。可悲的是,这些试剂会被其他氯气分析仪排放到环境中,并需要重新购买新的化学试剂,通常每台分析仪每年平均花费700美元,外加人工。

由于通过了NSF61认证,而且不需要废物流或试剂,佛罗里达州、加利福尼亚州和内华达州的市政饮用水设施正在评估该传感器的未来部署。

污水处理

用于处理厂的余氯传感器

许多经过处理的废水被 "回收 "或循环用于其他用途,如灌溉。 对于需要经常重新校准的传统传感器来说,这些是棘手的应用。 例如,在美国佛罗里达州奥兰多市的一家污水处理厂,他们的电流传感器(我们的竞争单位之一)必须每天校准三次(每个工作班次)才能获得准确的读数。然而,卤素系统公司的传感器在超过一个月的运行中不需要校准,而且在工厂设定的校准下,开箱就能准确读取。 由于我们拥有专利的连续自清洁系统,我们的传感器仍然不经常进行校准。 我们处理余氯传感器的方法使传感表面没有有机物和其他形式的堆积物。

卤素系统公司修改了其用于废水的传感器,并在2021年5月运送了其第一个传感器。佛罗里达州的多个污水处理厂已经向佛罗里达州环境保护部申请批准使用我们的传感器进行合规报告。 佛罗里达州的奥兰多市是第一个获得环境保护部批准的城市。 其他城市也将很快获得佛罗里达州环保局的这些批准,届时,卤素系统公司的设备将取代他们的旧技术。 "HASK公司的Jason Erskine说:"这使工厂的流程得到更严格的控制,劳动力更少,更可靠,更严格的准确性,以及更少的化学品使用。

About Us

From Small Beginnings

Chlorine Analyzer

In 2013 Halogen Systems was started in a personal garage in the small town of Incline Village, Nevada.  Our chlorine analyzer was developed, in part, with a Small Business Innovative Research Contract (SBIR) from the Office of Naval Research (ONR).  The International Maritime Organization (IMO) is enacting new D2 standards there was much work to be done. (The D2 standard is a performance standard that specifies the maximum number of viable organisms allowed to be discharged, including specific indicator microbes harmful to human health.)

Once our Halogensys.com website went live, orders from around the world began to come in.   We quickly outgrew the garage and had to rent part of a small industrial building in 2015.  Since then, we have moved to a much larger space in South Reno, Nevada. To date, we have delivered over 2,500 sensors for ballast water treatment and have also developed our sensors for both the drinking water and wastewater sensor markets.

We are excited that the Halogen System Inc. sensor has been called “disruptive” by many.  It overcomes most of the limitations of existing technologies and delivers more stable results.  

Environmental Benefits & More

Ballast Water Treatment For Invasive Species

Invasive species (like zebra mussels) create environmental havoc on ecosystems.  Many of these organisms are brought in by ballast water from cargo ships crossing oceans or different harbors. These ships discharge, at times, millions of gallons of water during operation. Untreated water can result in overwhelming local ecosystems. Fortunately, vessels are now required to sterilize their ballast water and kill invasive species before discharging it using a treatment system (BWTS).  Many BWTS use the Halogen Systems Inc. Ballast Water TRO Sensor to measure the oxidant level for controlling the treatment process.  Our sensor also ensures that the discharged waters oxidant level is safe to be released.  Ballast water chlorine measurement is the most difficult of all applications due to biofouling, high water hardness, high salt levels, and temperature extremes,” says Michael Silveri, president of Halogen Systems Inc. “It took us several years to generate a reliable sensor for such a harsh environment such as seawater. Since we have successfully provided a sensor for the most strenuous application out there, developing similar sensor technology for wastewater and drinking water treatment plants is relatively easy.”

Drinking Water

Municipal Water Chlorine Levels

Halogen Systems Inc. technology, granted 11 patents worldwide to date, is the only chlorine analyzer sensor that may be inserted directly into a drinking water pipe.  It can do this because it is the only sensor unaffected by fluctuating flow speed.  Our sensors work just as effectively even while being placed in a water tank. Additionally, in July of 2021, we were awarded NSF61 level certification allowing our sensors safe use in drinking water applications.

Additionally, Halogen Systems analyzers do not need a waste stream to function whereas, other chlorine analyzer systems do.  Most analyzers require a waste stream of roughly 69,000 gallons of water per year to obtain their readings.   Besides excessive water consumption, the cost of the treated water simply going to waste is, on average, $150 per year per sensor.  Some utilities have over 100 analyzers operating with waste streams, resulting in a significant wasteful expense.

Halogen Systems sensors also eliminate the need for chemical reagents.  Sadly, these get discharged into the environment by traditional analyzers and require the repurchase of new chemical reagents, typically costing an average of $700 per year per analyzer, not including the labor involved. 

With NSF61 Certification and no need for waste streams or reagents, Municipal drinking water utilities in Florida, California, and Nevada are evaluating the sensor for future deployment.

Wastewater

Chlorine Analyzer For Treatment Plants

Much of treated wastewater is “reclaimed” or recycled for other uses like irrigation.  These are tricky applications for conventional sensors that require frequent recalibration.  For example, in one Orlando, Florida USA wastewater treatment plant, their current sensors (one of our competitions units) must be calibrated three times per day (each work-shift) to obtain accurate readings. However, Halogen Systems sensors do not require calibration for over one month of operation and read accurately straight out of the box with factory set calibrations.  Calibration remains infrequent with our sensors due to our patented, continuous, self-cleaning system.  Our approach to chlorine sensors keeps the sensing surface free of organics and salt build-up.

Halogen Systems Inc. modified its sensor for wastewater purposes and shipped its first sensor in May of 2021. Multiple wastewater treatment plants in Florida have applied for approval with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection for using our sensor for compliance reporting.  Orlando, Florida, is the first city to gain DEP approval.  Other municipalities will soon receive these same approvals from the Florida DEP, at which point Halogen Systems Inc. equipment will replace their old technology.  “This enables much tighter control of the plant process, with less labor, more reliability, tighter accuracy, and less chemical usage,” says Jason Erskine of HASK, Inc.